My Kind of Monday

(Monday, January 16, 2017)



“We are wasting and degrading human life by clinging to archaic thinking.”

~ Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

mlk


I am a history buff, of sorts.  I cannot let a day like this go by and not recognize the impact of a person such as Dr. King.  I cannot forget the one time I visited Washington D.C. when I was 16 years old and could not ignore the history that literally pulsed through me as I made my way through the city.  I’ve stood on those steps and walked by that reflecting pool and scoured the Vietnam Memorial wall that hides just behind those trees.  Even now, I tear up a bit thinking about this city and it’s history – and MLK’s part in it all.  It very powerful to me, to feel the energy of this history that happened long ago, but continues to be relevant today.

Happy Birthday, MLK.  Rest in Peace.


I have the day off from work today, which made it a three day weekend.  I pried myself out of bed by 7:40am and moved slowly out of the house with Buffy by 7:48am to go on our walk.  We gained momentum on the walk, despite my random stops to take photos.  It was a chilly morning, but blue skies and a warm sun cast long shadows and lit up tree leaves and flowers along our way.  I took Buffy off her leash on an overpass to take photos and she ran back and forth, tongue hanging out, happy panting.  My favorite.

I was sore from exercising the day before, so I did less strength exercises (but I did them).  I could feel myself moving slow and kept thinking about my coffee I’d get later on that morning.  But first, a hot shower and beauty session.  The only way to start my day, including that coveted coffee that would pave my day for greatness.  Afterwards, though, I was still moving slow.  I could have slept more that morning, but I didn’t.  I could have schlepped on the couch instead of getting my coffee, going to the store and going through photos/writing on this blog, and making/receiving two phone calls (to my dad, from friend).  My Christmas present is open on purpose and waiting for me to use it – a large, wooden art case filled with freshly sharpened colored pencils, ripe pastels and unopened tubes of acrylic and watercolor paints.  This case has parts that pull out and reveal more goodies underneath.  I have so many coloring books to go through and my right brain is exploding with euphoric artgasms.

Anyway.

I have a friend coming over.

That’s all for now, but I have high hopes for a check-in tomorrow..  til then.  Over and out.

Leave a Reply

